There are 17 Theosophy Centres in New Zealand,  12 Branches or Lodges and 4 Study Centres.

Internationally the Theosophical Society is divided into administrative areas known as Sections. The Branches together form the New Zealand Section which was chartered in 1886. It was registered under the NZ 'Incorporated Societies Act 1908' on October 29, 1908. 

Branches: Organisationally the Section is broken down into Branches (or Lodges) and Study Centres. The difference between a Branch and Study Centre is basically its scope of activities. Branches not only provide centres of activity for their members, but also make available to the general public, information relating to the basic concepts and ideals of Theosophy.

Study Centres are usually formed by a specific group of individuals for the study of theosophical concepts, or they may be the nucleus for forming a new Branch where one does not currently exist. They are administered by a Convenor who is a member of the society. A group may grow, if it wishes, into a Branch by forming a Committee and applying for a Charter to our International President through the NZ Section Office. 

Branches are generally closed during the holiday period (mid-December to mid-February).